Final countdown to D-day!

Halloween flew by! For Virginia’s third Halloween, she was a UT cheerleader!  She was adorable. We went to a retirement home in Kirkland the morning of the 30th with the mom’s club. All the kids looked so cute, and the elderly people were so happy to see them! Virginia got a good bit of candy, and was really good at only taking one piece and saying thank you! That night Bungie had a Halloween party for families. They had a bouncy house, a face painter, balloon animals, lots of candy, pizza. We were waiting in line for something, and there was a family in front of us with three kids. Joe didn’t know the guy, but his wife asked how far along I was. When I told her I was due in about 19 days she was so surprised, she thought I was about six months along! That was pretty flattering!

At my 38 week appointment last Monday we had an ultrasound, so Joe and Virginia came along. It was so neat to see the baby on the ultrasound, we could see him blinking, moving his hands, and rolling around. The tech was able to tell us that he is definitely still a boy, and that he has hair! Dr. Schockett said I look great, and that baby boy is head down and ready to go at any time! Luckily I was only dilated to about two centimeters, not too alarming. Joe had the day off work because they were reorganizing the office, so we had a nice lazy day. I’m trying to enjoy our time as a family of three before we become four!

This past weekend we took Virginia to the Seattle Children’s Museum on Saturday. The place was kind of packed, but we had a good time! Virginia is so sweet around other kids, she waits her turn and doesn’t take things from other kids! Sunday night we had a nanny come watch Virginia. Joe and I went to an Italian restaurant (not kid friendly) for dinner and saw Spectre, the new James Bond movie. It was pretty nice to have a night off together! Virginia has become very verbal, and very opinionated, which can be frustrating but also super cute. Getting a little break with Joe was much needed!

Aside from all that, we’ve had some health things to deal with! Joe had some patchy irritated skin on one of his sideburns that he finally went to a dermatologist to get checked out (after way too much time ignoring it), and it turned out to be skin cancer. Luckily it wasn’t melanoma, it was a basal cell carcinoma that he had to put a cream on for four weeks to treat. He just finished the cream last week and his skin is healing now. About two weeks ago Virginia and I were at a play date and one of her friends (a little girl that is almost a year older than Virginia, and notoriously rough) pulled her elbow out of the socket! At first I wasn’t sure what was wrong with her, because she didn’t have any marks on her arm and couldn’t tell me what happened. She was just crying and holding her arm funny. After we got home and she still wasn’t moving her arm well, I took her to her pediatrician. She had what is called a nursemaid’s elbow, and the doctor had to pop her elbow back in place! It took three different tries, and I had to hold Virginia while she did it. It was horrible, and we both cried. Apparently it is a common injury in toddlers, but it is usually caused when a parent picks a toddler up by their arm too hard. Pretty crazy that an almost three year old was able to do it, she must have pulled Virginia so hard! Now when we are around that girl I watch them like a hawk! I won’t let Virginia get hurt like that again.

Tomorrow I have my 39 week check up! Hopefully I haven’t made too much progress dilating, baby boy has to stay put until at least Saturday! I am so excited to see what he looks like, and to see how Virginia is as a big sister! It will be fun having Cindy here to help entertain Virginia, I can’t wait for her to see how smart Virginia is! I can’t believe we are so close to meeting our son! He could be here in less than ten days!

Leave a Reply

