38 weeks! Ready to meet baby Blackburn!

How far along? 38 weeks!

Total weight gain: I’m up to 156, which sounds very scary! That puts me at 23 pounds gained. At our 36 week ultrasound they estimated that the baby weighs right about 6 pounds.
Maternity clothes? Pretty much all I wear! I wear a lot of Joe’s shirts around the house!
Stretch marks? Knock on wood, I still don’t have any! And my belly is definitely out there now!
Sleep: Sleep has gotten pretty rough lately! I’m tired all the time, but at night I have to pee so much I’m waking up every hour!
Best moment this week: Joe spent a lot of time this past week going into work early and staying really late, because he was afraid I would go into labor early and wouldn’t be able to meet his deadlines. Once Friday was over he could calm down, and we’ve been spending a lot of time doing things we won’t be able to much longer! Friday night we went out to Federal Hill to this great burger place and ordered a bunch of food and stayed out late. Saturday after work we went out to lunch in Canton for mexican food at this neat place with some of my co-workers. I ate lots of spicy salsa to see if that would make the baby antsy. Tonight we’re going to Cracker Barrel because we still have a bunch of money on gift cards. Joe and I know pretty soon we won’t be able to go out to dinner so we’re taking advantage of our baby free time!

Miss Anything? At this point I just really would love a glass of sangria! I’m only a few weeks away from being able to have one!
Movement: I’d read that the baby would move around less now that they are running out of room, but that is not the case with this child! The baby likes to kick and elbow me all day long.
Food cravings: Same as the past few months, Whoppers with onion rings and grapes. I could probably eat a Whopper everyday, but my poor husband shouldn’t have to eat massive amounts of Burger King.
Anything making you queasy or sick: I just get randomly dizzy but that’s about it.
Gender: Every day strangers guess boy or girl, pretty soon we’ll know for sure!

Labor Signs: I’ve gotten some braxton hicks contractions, and my body is already getting ready to kick this baby out! At my 37 week appointment my doctor did a cervical exam, my cervix is over 60% effaced, I’m a centimeter and a half dilated, and the baby’s head is down. So now it’s just a waiting game!
Symptoms: Still tired and huge! But still feeling super lucky about how easy a pregnancy I’ve had.
Belly Button in or out? It looks weird! It’s half way in/half out at this point.
Wedding rings on or off? Had to take it off a few days ago. One of my obgyn’s suggested that I put it on a necklace so I’ve been wearing my rings around my neck. Customers at work that can’t tell I’m pregnant (when I’m sitting at my desk some people can’t see) ask whose rings I’m wearing, like if they are a family heirloom or something, and are so surprised when I tell them I’m almost 10 months pregnant and the rings are my wedding rings. Ha.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, excited, anxious, nervous about labor…
Looking forward to: Going into labor, finding out if we will have a son or daughter, and seeing Joe as a dad!

Pictures from the past few days!

Uma likes to hang out on the bed in the nursery/guest room. She’s excited to meet her little brother or sister!

umaAfter a doctor’s appointment where I told Joe I was already dilated and my cervix was halfway gone, I got this text which I just found hilarious. Poor guy seemed scared. Ha.

photo (1)Today I was making a cake and walked into the living room to see Uma and Joe all cute napping on the couch. Joe loves his naps, which will be great when our kids need to take naps and I can just say, “Look, your dad likes to take his naps!” Ha.

napping

Leave a Reply

