It’s pumpkin season!

Fall is officially in swing, and this girl could not be happier! Don’t get my wrong, I love summer. Summer means my birthday, wearing my short shorts, and being warm! But with fall comes along all things pumpkin flavored! Some of my favorites include:

Eggo’s Pumpkin Spice waffles! They are delicious!

Dunkin Donut’s Pumpkin Iced Coffee! I could drink like ten a day.

Other favorites include pumpkin bread (which I will be making this weekend when my parents come to visit!), pumpkin pancakes, and of course pumpkin pie. Other great reasons to love Fall include watching the leaves change, wearing super comfy sweaters, drinking lots of hot chocolate, and getting to wear boots (which I look pretty good in, if I do say so). I love corn mazes, scary movies (but not haunted houses), Halloween, Thanksgiving, and laying on the couch under a blanket. Okay, enough of my love for fall…

Last week Joe had one of his game nights with some friends from work. There were 6 grown boys at our place, and I decided to make chili in honor of fall! I thought chili would be substantial enough for the guys! Along with the chili I had all the toppings- sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, and Frito scoops. I had never made chili before, so I decided to loosely follow a recipe Joe had used that won him the chili cook off at his work a few months ago. I only used ground beef (I’m cheap) and used about half as much of the spices the recipe called for, as well as omitted the jalapenos (I can’t handle heat). The recipe I sort of used was this: http://www.food.com/recipe/chile-lovers-spicy-three-meat-chili-32062

First I chopped up the garlic, onion, and bell pepper. My dicing skills are getting pretty good, my Iphone camera picture taking skills, not so much.

I cooked up the three pounds of ground beef in a skillet (which took foreverrrr) and started throwing everything into my super awesome red stock pot.

After the beef was cooked it was really easy! Just dump everything in the stock pot and cook over medium for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. I made this in the afternoon and just let it cook away while I puttered around. Keeping with the fall theme for the night’s dinner, I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I accidentally let the butter get a little to soft, so after making the dough I put it in the fridge for a few hours, hoping that would keep the cookies from spreading while they baked.

Here is the chili in all its glory…

Even after dialing down all the spice, the guys still thought it was full of heat! I thought it was crazy spicy, but it was super tasty so I was able to look past the heat. The cookies tasted great, but they still spread out while baking and were pretty flimsy. They didn’t look perfect but they were also a big hit.

My parents are driving up from Nashville and will spend the weekend with me and Joe! I’m pretty excited. Monday is a holiday so we’ll have 3 days to hang out! On another note, it’s almost October 6th! Last year on October 6th, Joe proposed to me! It was pretty much one of the best days of my life. I can’t believe that was already a year ago! I’m a lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

