Pinterest peach cake!

First off, I’d like to start with a super cute picture of my little owl collection. I have my big owl, who has a bunch of measuring cups inside of him (an awesome wedding present from one of my bridesmaids). My newest additions are the cute little owl salt and pepper shakers that my mother in law bought for me! I just had to show them off.

I bargained with my manager a few weeks ago and she let me have Labor day weekend off to go home to Tennessee if I made some kind of dessert to bring in for the branch. I totally forgot about my end of the bargain, had a great time in Tennessee, and then my manager was very sad when I didn’t bring anything in. So I went to trusty Pinterest and found this Peachy Keen cake, and made it to bring in. The recipe seemed really easy and straightforward. You only need a yellow cake mix, a can of sliced peaches, butter, cream cheese, eggs, sugar, and vanilla extract, most of which I have on hand regularly. (I’m pretty proud of my well stocked kitchen)

First, combine the yellow cake mix, butter, and an egg to make a crust. Keep about a cup and half aside for a streusel top.

Press the majority of the mix into the bottom of a 13×9 pan, bake for ten minutes. (Check recipe link for temperatures and whatnot, I can’t really remember) Recipe link- http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/dessert/cake/peachy-keen-bars.html#.T4zebLU3T8P.pinterest

In the bowl of my super awesome mixer, I mixed the cream cheese, sugar, and an egg. It seemed to take forever to get creamy, but I think that was due to my cream cheese being not totally room temperature.

While the stand mixer is a-mixing away, and the crust is baking, dice up the peaches into smallish chunks.

Assembly time! Take the pan out of the oven, layer on the peaches.

Pour the cream cheese mixture on top of the peaches, and then crumble the remaining crust mixture over everything.

The final product looks like this bubbly, golden brown cake.

So there was the peach cake! It tasted a heck of a lot better than that picture looks! It was so good, I kind of hid it at work, so I could bring home as much as possible for Joe and I!

Our trip back to Tennessee for Labor Day was great! We got to spend a lot of time with Joe’s parents and sister, as well as my parents and sisters. I miss our families like crazy, and it is always so much fun to be back with everyone. We got to go out on the lake, see a movie, eat a lot of good food, and play board games (we are board game people!).

In other news, Joe and I went to the Maryland Renaissance Festival this past weekend. We went with another couple and it was a lot of fun! We got to shoot arrows, throw knives, juggle, watch jousting, eat un-healthy food, take silly pictures.

So basically we’re just busy as usual! Life is good.

Leave a Reply

