Step away from Pinterest!

So lately I’ve been stockpiling dessert recipes like nobody’s business. I may have a sugar addiction. Last weekend Joe had a hankering for No Bake Cookies, so I whipped some up. They were awesome! I accidentally poured in too much vanilla but it paid off in the end!

Sugary goodness! Joe and I had a few and I sent the rest off to work with him! Too much temptation.

On Friday we had a potluck at work, and I offered to bring the dessert. I made Funfetti Cake Batter Cookies with icing, a recipe I’d seen all over Pinterest (and then I realized it was actually on the Pillsbury cake box). I’d never tried the cake mix cookies, and let me say, they were awesome! Super easy to make, and after letting them cool a bit I frosted them with vanilla Funfetti icing. They were the bomb. Joe and I had to sample a few before I could bring them to work. I neglected to get any pictures, mainly because they were gone so fast! When I took them to work the next day, there were only 4 left by noon! Not too shabby.

Friday night I got off the dessert train and made a Mexican chicken casserole dinner. It was a recipe I’d found on Pinterest, and I’ve already lost the original recipe! But it was super simple. It was chicken enchilada casserole, and I cheated and bought a plain rotisserie chicken. I shredded the chicken and that was done! Into a casserole dish you just threw in a cup of enchilada sauce, a cup of sour cream, 3/4 cup of salsa verde, the shredded chicken, 12 tortilla shells torn into 1 inch pieces, and a can of black beans. Stir it all together, add some shredded cheese on top, and pop it in the oven for 25 minutes. It came out bubbly and awesome smelling! And it was the easiest thing to put together, because the only dish you get dirty is the 13×9 pan!

I was super pleased with it! Joe said the leftovers he had for lunch Saturday re-heated really well. So that is something I will be making again! I would probably add some regular salsa as well next time though.

Saturday Joe and I went down to Fell’s Point in Baltimore and checked out that area. There are a ton of cute little pubs and stores. And we found a little frozen yogurt place for a snack, those fro-yo places are so popular right now! And then we found…a tattoo shop! Joe has been thinking of getting one for a while, so we went in to the Baltimore Tattoo Museum and when we left Joe had an appointment for Sunday!

We got to the shop around 11 on Sunday and the guy got all set up. I was a little nervous for Joe, the piece he was getting was lots of color and on the large side, but I knew he was tough! I have three tattoos, and I figured if I could handle it so could Joe! Ha. The tattoo artist got to work and did the whole thing in about 2 and a half hours, with no breaks!

Joe laying on the table, so cute! I was so proud of him, he was a real champ! The longest any of my tattoos took to get done was just over an hour, so for him to sit that long was pretty crazy to me. But it turned out amazing!

It’s Link from the Zelda game Windwaker! So fitting for my video game guy!

So we had a very exciting weekend! We don’t have a grill (can’t have them on our apartment patio, huge fire hazard), but we do have a George Foreman! So we’ve been grilling burgers and tonight I think we’re doing hot dogs. Yay for summer weather! I made homemade cole slaw the other night to go with our burgers, and last night we had corn on the cob. Next I’m going to try making my mom’s potato salad! Best of all, after a short work week, Joe and I will be heading to Nashville Friday night! My sister Callie is graduating from high school Saturday and Joe and I wouldn’t miss it! There will be a big party at my parents house afterwards, and I am so excited to get to see my family and Joe’s mum! It’s been too long!

Leave a Reply

