3 months and counting!

It’s been a while since I last blogged, I keep meaning to but I’ve been lazy! So I’ve tried out a few new things in the past few weeks. I made my first batch of homemade rolls a while back.

They didn’t get as brown on the tops as I would have liked, but they seemed okay! They tasted kind of bland to me, but the recipe I used was very basic so I figured as much. I don’t know if I’ll go through all the trouble with the yeast and whatnot on a regular basis, but its nice to know I can whip them up if needed.

I made some delicious strawberry cupcakes with vanilla icing last weekend, but I totally cheated and used a box. My mom makes them as mini cupcakes during the summer, and I just had a craving for them! I made Joe take the majority of them to work so we wouldn’t have two dozen cupcakes at our apartment taunting us.

Some with sprinkles and some with out! I heard from Joe that the sprinkles went first, I’ll have to keep that in mind next time!

Joe and I have been married three months as of today! It feels like its been longer, but in a good way. Lately we’ve been doing some exploring around where we live. We take drives down random roads and find neat things along the way. Last weekend we stumbled across a neighborhood that had an open house to check out, and it just so happened to be our perfect dream home. With a price tag of 1.1 million. Wowza! But we can dream. Ha.

I lucked out and had today off, so Joe and I got out early-ish and drove around checking out some yard sales. No great finds, but we got to see some cute neighborhoods and trails. Joe had heard from some co-workers that there was a great bbq place nearby so we checked it out. It was literally in the middle of nowhere, and it was basically a run down looking house that was turned into a bbq joint. It was run by some super friendly guys that gave us our drinks for free because it was our first time there! I had a pulled pork sandwich and coleslaw, and Joe had a half rack of ribs and mac and cheese. It was super good! And a great price. Since today was so nice out we sat outside at a picnic table and had a picnic! It was great.

Joe was a really great husband and even went dress shopping with me this afternoon. We are going back to Tennessee in two weeks for one of my sister’s high school graduation. I don’t have any chick friends here and I am horrible at shopping by myself. Joe patiently went in and out of stores with me and let me try on bunches of dresses, and didn’t even mind that I took forever. He was very sweet. And eventually I found a great dress!

We rounded out our evening by hitting up this pizza place in Baltimore called Joe Squared. Guy went there on Diners, Drive-In’s, and Dives, so we had to see it! Plus Joe and I could basically live off pizza so we have to make sure we know all the good places. And it was a huge hit! We had the Flag Pizza, it was one part pesto sauce with mozzarella, one part red sauce with mozzarella cheese, and one part white sauce with feta.

My favorite part was the pesto sauce, but it was all great! It was great anniversary dinner. Ha. Now we’re back home and Joe is playing Diablo 3 and I’ve got Everwood on! Life is good.

Leave a Reply

