Feeling homesick!

Today is my mom and dad’s birthday. My dad is exactly one year older than my mom, but they share the same birthday. Weird, right? I think its cute. Also, their names rhyme. They were just meant to be. Ha. And this Saturday is my sister Callie’s 18th birthday. It’s all very exciting, except I’m all the way in Maryland and they are in Tennessee. Now I am only 2 hours away by plane (11 by car), and I know that is not a big deal, but I am super close to my family. Me going away to college was a pathetic half hour drive away from home. I went home at least once a week, and crashed at their house pretty often. Every Wednesday Joe and I went to my parents house for dinner and to watch Modern Family. I miss our weekly dinners!

This is the first picture I could find of my family, it was taken at my college graduation party in May of 2011. Back when I was temporarily blonde! Eek…

Anyway, I’m totally adapting to Baltimore and being married and living with a super cute boy and a mostly sweet kitten. But today is my parents birthday and its the first time in my whole life I’ve ever not been there! I’m the oldest of four girls, and I always made sure to get all their presents and wrap them and get them cards and make sure all my sisters signed them and whatnot. This year I had to send a lame package. (BTW, do not use FedEx to send stuff, they will totally rip you off compared to the regular old Post Office.) I know my sisters stepped up and took charge of presents, but I’m bummed I won’t be there to see them get opened!

I know I’m being a total baby, but this a big deal to me. I freaking love birthdays. I really wish I could be home this weekend to take Callie to a club. On a side note, my sister Rebecca and I share the same birthday but I am two years older. Another random coincidence. But when she turned 18, we spent some of the night together, but we didn’t go to a club or anything because Rebecca would have actually enjoyed it, whereas I was so not into that whole scene. But with Callie, Rebecca and I could have taken her and it would have been a hoot! I’m sure she will have a great birthday regardless!  So that’s my complainy blog for the week, I’m bummed about missing all these birthdays. I haven’t cooked/baked anything that didn’t start out from a box or was mostly pre-made. This Friday we are having a work potluck and I’m making sausage balls that have gotten rave reviews from previous gatherings. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

