The pie that tried to kill me.

I decided to make a banana pudding pie for Easter, from a recipe I’d found on Pinterest. I already wrote about how I failed at making the pudding from scratch, and that I would try the pie at a later time. Tuesday was my day off last week, so I thought I’d make it then. I sucked it up and bought the instant vanilla pudding mix from the store.

Bam! Only took 5 minutes and it smelled awesome. I covered it with saran wrap, and managed to cut my finger on the sharp edge of the box. My dad says I can get hurt eating dinner. I don’t know how I’ve made it this far in my life without any serious injuries! (Knock on wood…)

So I put the pudding in the fridge and do a few housewifey type things around the apartment. After about an hour I decide its a good time to make the homemade crust.  About 30 vanilla wafers crushed up, mixed with 1/2 a cup of melted butter. Sounds easy enough right?

Now, the recipe said to crush the wafers, and then add the butter. But what this picture doesn’t show, is that I had a mental lapse and just poured the melted butter over the whole wafers and then hit pulse. I thought it might turn out okay, but it turned into a really weird soupy consistency. I thought it wouldn’t make a good crust, so I dumped it down the drain and started over. I cleaned out the food processor, and in the process of washing the goo off the blade, I dropped it. And then like an idiot, I reached out and caught the blade. And cut my thumb. Like an idiot. So then I had to stop and get a band-aid and yell at myself for not being kitchen smart. Moving on…

I re-made the crust, and it still seemed wrong. I poured it in the pie plate, and couldn’t get the crust to go up the sides of the plate. The wafer/butter goo just kept sliding down. I was a little frustrated at this point, having a band-aid on each hand, and not feeling like the pie was going to turn out at all.

After the crust came out of the oven, it still looked kind of puny. But I decided to keep on trucking! I let it cool for about an hour while I did some more chores, and then got to work. First I had to cut up 3 bananas! I really love bananas.

That would be all the components of the pie! You start with the crust, and the layers go:

Bananas!

Pudding!

Wafers!

More pudding!

More bananas!

Last layer of pudding!

And top it all off with whipped cream! The recipe called for homemade whipped cream, but seriously? I really love Cool Whip, and after the pudding fiasco I knew better than to try my luck with all that. The pie was pretty heavy, and my pie plate was definitely overflowing a bit! I very carefully covered it with saran wrap and popped it in the fridge.

The pie sat in the fridge for about 7 hours before Joe and I dug in. I cut out the first piece, and guess what! The crust stayed in the pie plate. I was about to cry. I managed to scoop out the crust and just dumped in on the side of the plate. I had kind of given up hope, but I got another piece out. Joe and I finally tasted it, and it was actually really good! If the piece had come out clean, I would have thought I was pretty awesome. But even with it being a mess, it tasted awesome. I don’t know if I would go through all the trouble to make it again in the near future, and I would definitely have to figure out a way to make the crust come out better, but I think it was mostly a success! Ha.

The finished product in all its glory! Not much to look at, but super tasty! This weekend Joe and I are going to see Cabin in the Woods and re-arrange our bedroom. Nothing fancy on the cooking calendar, but I’ll try and find something new to make on my day off!

One thought on “The pie that tried to kill me.

  1. You have ventured into a new territory — banana pudding pie! Impressive! The blades on the chopper/ salsa maker have injured me more than once-agh 😦

Leave a Reply

